Home > LonePlacebo > A WordPress.com Blogger’s Dilemma

A WordPress.com Blogger’s Dilemma

November 18, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

LonePlacebo logo

My failed attempt to mirror Google's logo alterations

It has finally hit me. The burn-out. And I haven’t even reached the expected six-month kill off point. FML.

During the three months here at the cozy, cost-free confines of WordPress, I have enjoyed the knowledge of knowing that there was absolutely no financial burden sitting on my shoulders. Without self-hosting a blog, I didn’t have to pay a dime. That was fine with me… three months ago.

Now, I can contemplate the possibilities of expansion but also the strains of a free blog on WordPress. I regularly visit dozens of blogs and continually stunned by the beautiful design templates and plug-ins incorporated in each respective blog. Restricted from such features and capabilities, I am beginning to seriously consider the prospects of  “switching sides” for good.

So, what to do? I ask myself whether I have the time, commitment, and determination to continue blogging as I currently do one year from now. It’s a tough question to swallow, no doubt, but the day that LonePlacebo officially divorces from “wordpress” is imminent I tell you.

This past couple of weeks, I have been undergoing a “tremendous” research project to understand all the technicalities necessary to maintain a WordPress.org blog. There is HTML, CSS, Javascript, etc. the list goes on. But, it excites me nevertheless.

During this time, I have also considered laying the LonePlacebo name to rest should I ever decide to own my own domain name. I fear that it will create a helluva mess in the search engine queries, which is a headache not worth experiencing. Furthermore, if I create a new name, it requires necessarily, a new logo. My sorely lacking Photoshop skills may hinder the possibilities of creating an image worthy of people’s attention.

All of you WordPress.com bloggers out there: How are you feeling? Misery likes company. LonePlacebo needs your help.

If I have made you miserable, remember to unfollow me on Twitter here. Alternatively, unsubscribe to my RSS feed if you haven’t already.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. November 19, 2009 at 10:52 AM

    Right now, I am using squarespace and I am pretty happy with it. However, I am new there. However, it is only $8 a month.

  2. November 20, 2009 at 8:15 AM

    If you truly enjoy blogging, wordpress.org will give you an experience that you must try! You don’t want to stop blogging and never know what it’s like to take your blog to the next level!

    Your own domain and a host provider will cost you less than $100 US per year. That’s a cheap hobby and almost nothing if you’re treating this as a small business!

  3. November 21, 2009 at 1:08 PM

    If you have no web host as, yet, and are seeking one from which to operate your blog, then make sure that your host offers MySQL. WordPress Blog Hosting

  4. November 23, 2009 at 7:11 PM

    Hosting your own site is really the way to go. And it’s not hard at all. You’re obviously funny and creative. At this point the free stuff is just holding you back. Go for it.

  5. ZXT
    November 25, 2009 at 5:15 PM

    Yeah definitely a self hosted WordPress is a lot better. I suggest go with Bluehost as its the number one suggested by WordPress.org and I’m using Bluehost too, so far so good.

  6. November 27, 2009 at 2:02 PM

    I’ve used self-hosted WordPress on first my family site, then on my wedding site, and now on 40Tech, and have had no regrets. I love the flexibility, and although there is a learning curve, it is pretty easy to pick up. I think you’d find it to be pretty easy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

